ICLEI Europe recognises and celebrates towns and cities demonstrating outstanding contributions and commitment to excellence and leadership in sustainability. We do this through hosting our own awards and also being members of the jury for national and European-wide awards. As an organisation we have also picked up a few awards along the way!

Showcasing excellence in sustainability

ICLEI Europe hosts two annual awards: 

The Transformative Action Award

The annual Transformative Action Award rewards current or concluded Transformative Actions that address the pathways of the Basque Declaration related to three categories:

  • Socio-cultural transformation
  • Socio-economic transformation
  • Technological transformation

Meet the 2017 Winner, Nilüfer, Turkey, who won the award for its work in civic engagement and participatory local democracy >>

Meet the 2018 Winner, Ghent, Belgium, who won the award for their action which seeks to transform the city’s local food system through participative governance models >>

Procura+ Awards

The annual Procura+ Awards reward successful, already running, sustainable and innovative public procurements. These procurements lead to significant improvements of public goods, services, processes and infrastructure.

The winners and runners-up of the 2018 Procura+ Awards were announced at the 2018 EcoProcura Conference in Nijmegen (The Netherlands) on 4 October. Trophies were presented by Marzena Rogalska, Director, DG Grow and Harriët Tiemens, Deputy Mayor of Nijmegen.

The winners of the 2018 Procura+ Awards were:

Sustainable Procurement of the Year: Government of Flanders
Innovation Procurement of the Year: City of Rotterdam (The Netherlands)
Procurement Initiative of the Year: City of Barcelona (Barcelona)

ICLEI Europe is also on the jury for European and national awards:

European Green Capital Award

Deutscher Nachhaltigkeitspreis

Recognition of ICLEI's work

ICLEI Europe's work and project's in which it is a partner have been recognised through a number of awards:

Eurid web award

2017 - Winner (Laurels category) SMR-project
2016 - Winner & finalist (Better World category), European Mobility Week, GrowSmarter

The annual .eu Web Awards, launched in 2014, showcases outstanding .eu and .ею websites which deliver on content, structure, navigation, and functionality,  visual   design,  and accessibility.

Find out more here

Family-friendly organisation

Certificate of Recognition

The Ministry of Labour for Baden-Württemberg and the Family Council for Baden-Württemberg awarded ICLEI European Secretariat GmbH in Freiburg with a certificate of recognition as "family-friendly company" for implementing family friendly workplace practices and benefits.

View the certificate of recognition here

 World Smart City Award

2017 - Finalist, GrowSmarter Project

The World Smart City Awards seek to reward pioneering projects, ideas and strategies that promote sustainable urban development around the globe. One of ICLEI's collaboration projects was a successful as a finalist in 2017.

View a list of the finalists here