14 February 2022

Twelve cities in final race to win European sustainable mobility awards

The European Commission has revealed the finalists for the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Awards for smaller and larger municipalities, the Award for Sustainable Urban Mobility Planning (SUMP) and the EU Urban Road Safety Award.

Several ICLEI Members are among this year’s finalists. Valongo (Portugal) is up for the EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2021 for smaller municipalities; Tampere (Finland) for the 10th SUMP Award; and Florence (Italy) and Warsaw (Poland) for the EU Urban Road Safety Award 2021.

Valongo is a finalist in recognition of its variety of mobility measures and activities that engage the public, and for taking a multi-modal approach. Tampere has focused on the essential role of health and safety in sustainable urban mobility, implementing initiatives for vulnerable groups, and highlighting how sustainable mobility plays a role in urban health, equality, and poverty.

For its part, Florence has showcased the importance of real-time data to road safety, with a state-of-the-art accident monitoring and analysis system that has led to a significant reduction in road casualties. They are finalists alongside Warsaw, which has placed pedestrians front and centre with an ambitious five-year study to identify strategies and recommendations for urgent and long-term mobility improvements.

EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK is the European Commission's flagship sustainable urban mobility campaign. The campaign is organised by a European Secretariat comprised of DG MOVE, ICLEI Europe, Eurocities, and Polis.

All awards are presented in recognition of remarkable activities conducted in 2021, and were held under the theme ‘Safe and Healthy with Sustainable Mobility’. The two EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Awards showcase smaller and larger municipalities that successfully promoted sustainable urban mobility during the title week, which was held from 16-22 September 2021. The SUMP Award rewards excellence in sustainable urban mobility planning; and the EU Urban Road Safety Award celebrates outstanding road safety measures.

The shortlisted cities were selected by an independent panel of mobility and transport experts, and the four winners will be crowned during an online award ceremony on 28 March 2022 at 15.00 CET. For more information and to attend the ceremony, click here.

Read the finalist announcement in full here, and find a full list of finalists below.


Nominees for EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2021 for larger municipalities (more than 100,000 inhabitants):
Amadora (Portugal), Kassel (Germany), Lüleburgaz (Turkey)

Nominees for EUROPEANMOBILITYWEEK Award 2021 for smaller municipalities (less than 100,000 inhabitants):
Alimos (Greece), Miajadas (Spain), Valongo (Portugal)

Nominees for 10th SUMP Award:
Madrid (Spain), Mitrovica South (Kosovo), Tampere (Finland)

Nominees for EU Urban Road Safety Award 2021:
Florence (Italy), Rethymno (Greece), Warsaw (Poland)