28 April 2022

44 ICLEI Cities selected for the EU Mission for climate-neutral and smart cities by 2030

Today, the cities selected for the EU Mission for climate-neutral and smart cities by 2030, also known as the Cities Mission, have been announced. 112 cities in total will represent all 27 EU member states, along with 12 additional cities from associated countries. Of those selected, 44 cities are ICLEI members — a demonstration of the strong commitment among ICLEI members to their journey toward climate neutrality.

To go further, ICLEI is a proud partner on the NetZeroCities project, the Platform for the Cities Mission. The initiative will support cities in bridging the barriers that they need to overcome in order to take further action on climate change, whether the challenges are structural, institutional, or cultural.

Wolfgang Teubner, Managing Director of ICLEI Europe notes,We are incredibly proud to announce that 44 of our ICLEI members will take part in the Climate-Neutral and Smart Cities Mission. Cities are major drivers of the transformative shifts needed to address the climate emergency, and we're ready to help them accelerate their ambition. Along with 30+ other partners, ICLEI Europe is deeply involved in the NetZeroCities project as part of the Mission Platform, guiding the development of Climate City Contracts, coordinating advisory City Panels, and much more.

List of selected ICLEI members:

  1. Antwerp, Belgium
  2. Brussels Capital Region, Belgium
  3. Zagreb, Croatia
  4. Aarhus , Denmark
  5. Copenhagen, Denmark
  6. Tartu, Estonia
  7. Espoo, Finland
  8. Helsinki, Finland
  9. Lahti, Finland
  10. Lappeenranta, Finland
  11. Tampere, Finland
  12. Turku, Finland
  13. Dunkerque,France
  14. Nantes Metropole, France
  15. Dresden, Germany
  16. Heidelberg, Germany
  17. Mannheim, Germany
  18. Münster, Germany
  19. Budapest, Hungary
  20. Miskolc, Hungary
  21. Cork, Ireland
  22. Bologna, Italy
  23. Rome, Italy
  24. Rotterdam, Netherlands
  25. Utrecht, Netherlands
  26. Warsaw, Poland
  27. Wrocław, Poland
  28. Guimarães, Portugal
  29. Lisbon, Portugal
  30. Ljubljana, Slovenia
  31. Barcelona, Spain
  32. Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
  33. Zaragoza, Spain
  34. Helsingborg, Sweden
  35. Malmö, Sweden
  36. Stockholm, Sweden
  37. Umeå, Sweden
  38. Gothenburg, Sweden
  39. Reykjavik, Iceland
  40. Oslo, Norway
  41. Stavanger, Norway
  42. Izmir, Turkey
  43. Bristol, United Kingdom
  44. Glasgow, United Kingdom

To learn more about the EU Mission for climate-neutral and smart cities by 2030, access the following resources below: