European Circular Cities Declaration

The European Circular Cities Declaration is designed to help accelerate the transition from a linear to a circular economy in Europe, and thereby create a resource-efficient, low-carbon and socially responsible society. 

It aims to:

  • Allow local and regional governments across Europe to communicate their commitment to supporting the circular transition
  • Provide a shared vision of what a “circular city” is
  • Underline the critical role which local and regional governments need to play in making this transition happen
  • Establish a network of committed organisations to share their experiences, challenges and successes

The Declaration has been developed by a broad partnership of stakeholders to ensure that the vision and commitments contained are ambitious, yet achievable, and reflect the needs of all.

  • ALBANIA: Tirana
  • BELGIUM: Ghent, Leuven, Mechelen
  • CZECHIA: Prague
  • DENMARK: Copenhagen, Høje-Taastrup, Roskilde
  • FINLAND: Helsinki, Lappeenranta, Mikkeli, Oulu, Tampere, Turku
  • FRANCE: Grenoble
  • GERMANY: Freiburg im Breisgau
  • HUNGARY: Budapest
  • ITALY: Florence, Prato
  • PORTUGAL: Braga, Guimarães, Melgaço
  • NORWAY: Bergen, Oslo
  • SLOVENIA: Ljubljana, Maribor
  • SPAIN: Seville
  • SWEDEN: Eskilstuna, Malmö, Umeå